Tags

, ,

So, I’ve been hearing about “something” going on with Chick-fil-A. Wasn’t sure what it was about, was quite certain I didn’t care to, but knew in the back of my head that it was coming. You just can’t keep stuff like that from breaking through when it gets so big that it’s everywhere. Sort of like an old boyfriend of mine who would record the World Cup soccer games and would, despite his most diligent efforts, inevitably hear the score before he could get home to watch them.

Facebook. I should’ve known. Right there in a status update – just enough information that I “got it”.

Well, since blogging is my new thing, it seems only appropriate to blog on such an event. Where, oh where, to begin? I’ll start with one of my all-time favorite quotes:

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing, there is a field. I will meet you there.

~Rumi

So, I’m all for having an opinion. I’m all for each and every one of us to BE different… and to like love different things (or even people, or even different types of people, you get where I’m going)… It is the human experience to experience, and what an amazing thing that we can all create our own unique set of experiences to call “life”. Ah… that word. Such a beauty. One thing that drives me absolutely bonkers, though, is when people think that their values/morals/opinions/beliefs are in any way connected to those of others. If you don’t like it, don’t do it. To me, it should be that simple. Unless someone is hurting someone else (who doesn’t want to be hurt – some people are a bit keen on pain, I’ve heard) then why, oh why, oh why, do you care — this is speaking to the Chick-fil-A’ers out there?

I wonder if you care because you wonder?

Now I’m wondering why I care that you care? I’m doing the same thing, aren’t I? On a smaller scale, of course, but still doing it. Darn!

I suppose I care because I’d like my kid to grow up in a world where people don’t judge each other. And I’d like to live in a that world, too. But, I guess the Chick-fil-A’ers would like to live in a world without gay people. And, I guess the gay people would like to live in a world where they can get married. Since we all live on the same planet, it get’s tricky. I have a sneaking suspicion that even if we had separate planets like the “Chick-fil-A” planet and the “People Who Don’t Care What Other People Do As Long As They Don’t Hurt or Judge Others” planet (otherwise known as “Planet Peace”), we’d still have problems.

So, here I sit, dreaming of that field. A field where two people can sit together – one who prefers to eat junk food, and the other who prefers intimacy with a same-sexed partner – accepting each other as they are, and appreciating the beauty in each other’s differences.

Here I sit, dreaming… of Planet Peace. Or more appropriately, World Peace. Maybe if enough of us want it. Definitely if all of us want it.

Who wants to meet me there?

